Ziebell's Farmhouse celebrates arrival of the Pribislaw in 1850

Published on 24 March 2025

Ziebell-Farmhouse-bluestone.jpg

Ziebell’s Farmhouse Museum & Heritage Garden is a unique attraction located in Thomastown’s Westgarthtown Pioneer Precinct – a hidden gem amongst modern homes. Originally owned by Christian and Sophia Ziebell, the farmhouse was built during the 1850s by the Ziebell family using local bluestone and typical German design. Surrounded by a barn, smoke house, bathhouse and beautifully maintained cottage garden the museum tells a fascinating story of the journey German and Wendish families made to Australia to establish dairy farms north of Melbourne.

Visitors are transported to a time when Thomastown was known as Westgarthown, Edgars Creek ran through open pasture and immigration was by tall ship. The neighbouring Reserve, Lutheran Church and historic Cemetery create further interest for tourists and locals alike.

Throughout 2025 the Friends of Westgarthtown and Ziebell's Farmhouse Museum & Heritage Garden celebrate the 175th anniversary of the arrival of the Pribislaw in Melbourne, voyaging from Hamburg in 1849 and arriving in Australia in 1850. 

Ziebell’s Farmhouse is about a 20-minute walk from Thomastown or Lalor Train Station.

Melways Map Ref: Map 8H5. Please enter from Ainwick Crescent Thomastown.

Guided Tours for groups available.  General admission – tickets at the door. 

Regular open hours are 11am – 3pm Tuesdays and Sundays and other times by appointment. 

 

Tagged as: